DataLab safe researcher training
 

DataLab safe researcher training must be undertaken in person before using the DataLab. This is usually run on-site at ABS offices.

This provides you with:

  • your shared responsibilities as a DataLab user
  • legislative requirements
  • an understanding of appropriate output for ABS clearance

It is not:
  • system training
  • statistical training
  • code or analytical language training

There is currently no charge for attending one of the scheduled sessions listed below. If you want to arrange an additional session at a different time or location, these may be arranged at a cost to your organisation. A minimum of ten attendees is preferred. Email your request to microdata.access@abs.gov.au.

DataLab safe researcher training is usually run as a half-day session. This may also be combined with a half-day of TableBuilder training for an additional cost (dependent on resource availability and sufficient number of attendees).


Prerequisites

Responsible Officer Undertaking
Experience in statistical analytical languages
  • DataLab has recent versions of analytical software, including R, SAS, SPSS, Stata and Python
  • You must be experienced in one of these analytical languages. Otherwise, seek expertise within your organisation before applying for microdata

Statistical experience
  • You must commit to protect and maintain the confidentiality of the data
  • You must have sufficient knowledge, experience and statistical capability necessary for handling information
  • This may be through statistical qualifications or research experience

Registration
Individual Undertaking and DataLab Declaration of Compliance
  • Submit these documents after you have attended your session


Upcoming sessions

If you would like to access microdata in the DataLab, select a session below. Use the Enrol now links to email the ABS about the session you are interested in attending and an ABS staff member will contact you. Dates are tentative and dependent on sufficient number of attendees.

If your organisation has not yet been approved to access microdata, see How to apply to arrange a subscription before booking a session.

Adelaide
Tuesday 17 March 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 23 June 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 22 September 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 17 November 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
.
Brisbane
Monday 2 March 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 3 March 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 1 June 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 2 June 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 28 September 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 29 September 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 23 November 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 24 November 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Canberra
Monday 6 April 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 7 April 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 9 June 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 10 June 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 10 August 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 11 August 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 19 October 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 20 October 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 7 December 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 8 December 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Darwin
Tuesday 18 February 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 19 February 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Hobart
Tuesday 24 March 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Melbourne
Tuesday 10 March 202012.45pm - 5.00pmFull
Wednesday 11 March 20208.45am - 1.00pmFull
Monday 15 June 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 16 June 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 14 September 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 15 September 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Monday 30 November 202012.45pm - 5.00pmEnrol now
Tuesday 1 December 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Perth
Tuesday 25 February 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 26 February 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Sydney
Wednesday 1 April 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 1 July 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 26 August 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 14 October 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
Wednesday 16 December 20208.45am - 1.00pmEnrol now
.
Townsville
Future sessions to be arrangedRegister your interest


Privacy policy

The ABS privacy policy outlines how the ABS handles any personal information that you provide to us.