Remoteness Structure

Latest release
Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Edition 3
Reference period
July 2021 - June 2026

The Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Remoteness Structure defines Remoteness Areas for the purpose of releasing and analysing statistics.

Remoteness Areas are derived from the Accessibility/Remoteness Index of Australia Plus (ARIA+) produced by the University of Adelaide.

Remoteness Areas divide Australia into five classes of remoteness on the basis of a measure of relative access to services. The five remoteness classes are: Major Cities, Inner Regional, Outer Regional, Remote and Very Remote.

For information on how the Remoteness Structure relates to other ASGS structures refer to the ASGS diagram.

Back to top of the page