Tourism Regions

Latest release
Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Edition 3
Reference period
July 2021 - June 2026

Tourism Regions are an ABS approximation of tourism regions provided by Tourism Research Australia (TRA). They are administrative regions primarily used by Tourism Research Australia for research and policy purposes. ABS approximations of administrative boundaries do not match official legal boundaries and should only be used for statistical purposes.

There are 76 Tourism Regions that do not cover the whole of Australia. The Other Territories of Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Christmas Island, Norfolk Island and Jervis Bay are not included. There are no special purpose codes included in the Tourism Regions classification.

TR design criteria

Tourism Regions have been created using Statistical Areas Level 2 (SA2s) to enable the release of ABS data on areas that, as closely as possible, approximate those provided.

For ASGS Edition 3, 76 Tourism Regions have been defined. Tourism Regions do not cross State or Territory borders. The ACT has only one Tourism Region and there are no Tourism Regions for the Other Territories.

TR name criteria

Tourism Region names are the same as those specified by Tourism Research Australia (TRA).

TR coding structure

Tourism Region codes are based on historic codes and remain unchanged if there has been no significant change to the boundary. Where significant change has occurred, Tourism Region codes are retired, and new codes introduced. Examples are shown below. 

S/T identifer

TR identiferTR codeTR name




R1002R100High Country



The codes used for ASGS Edition 3 may not match those used in past editions. When interpreting change, Tourism Region codes and names should be used together. A geographic correspondence file enabling the translation of data from ASGS 2016 to ASGS Edition 3 is available in the access and downloads section of this publication.

Special purpose codes are not included for Tourism Regions.

Back to top of the page