Greater Capital City Statistical Areas

Latest release
Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Edition 3
Reference period
July 2021 - June 2026

Greater Capital City Statistical Areas (GCCSAs) are geographic areas built from Statistical Areas Level 4 (SA4s). GCCSA boundaries represent labour markets and the functional area of Australian capital cities respectively. They are designed with an emphasis on stability over time to support the time series of statistical releases such as the Quarterly Labour Force publication.

There are 16 GCCSAs covering the whole of Australia without gaps or overlaps. The GCCSA boundaries may differ from official or commonly applied area boundaries. There are 8 regions covering each of the Australian state and territory capital cities; 7 regions covering the rest of each state and the Northern Territory (ACT only has one GCCSA region for the entire Territory); and a region covering Other Territories which includes Jervis Bay, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Norfolk Island.

In addition to these 16 GCCSA regions are 19 non-spatial special purpose codes, for a total of 35 GCCSAs. These non-spatial GCCSAs represent populations that are difficult to define geographically such as people who are in transit or have no fixed address. These special purpose codes include Migratory – Offshore – Shipping and No Usual Address for each State and Territory, as well as a new Outside Australia code.

GCCSA design criteria

GCCSAs are designed to represent the functional area of each of the eight State and Territory capital cities which includes populations who regularly socialise, shop or work within the city, but may live either in the city or in the small towns and rural areas surrounding the city. Within each State and Territory, the area not included in the GCCSA is represented by a Rest of State region. GCCSAs do not have population criteria.

GCCSA name criteria

GCCSAs are named according to the cities they represent, for example “Greater Sydney”. The remainder of the State and Territory is named Rest of <State>, for example “Rest of NSW”. The exceptions to this are the ACT, as the whole of the ACT is included in the GCCSA, and the Other Territories, which do not have a capital city.

GCCSA coding structure

A GCCSA is identified by a 5-character alphanumeric code. This comprises a 1-digit State or Territory identifier followed by a 4-character GCCSA identifier that is unique within each State and Territory.

Coding structure example for 1GSYD Greater Sydney
S/TGCCSA identifier


Back to top of the page