Enterprise Services Group

Jenet Connell

Jenet Connell, Deputy Australian Statistician and Chief Operating Officer

Jenet Connell is the Deputy Australian Statistician and Chief Operating Officer. Jenet is responsible for enterprise strategy and managing the full range of corporate enablers.

Jenet has been in the APS for 18 years, working within a number of central and line agencies and departments, across the APS.

Prior to joining the ABS,  she was the Deputy Australian Public Service Commissioner, and previously worked as the Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer (COO) in the Department of Immigration and Border Protection; Deputy Secretary, COO with the Department of Finance; Executive Manager within the Biosecurity Services Group of the then Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry; and Group Manager with the then Department of Employment and Workplace Relations.

Before joining the APS, Jenet spent three years in the private sector, working in a highly successful web development company in Perth, WA. Prior to that she spent some years as a senior executive within both the Victorian and the WA Public Service in workplace relations and small business policy.

Jenet holds a Master’s Degree in Organisational Psychology.

Corporate Services Division

Lane Masterton

Lane Masterton, General Manager

Lane is the General Manager of our Corporate Services Division.

Lane has over 10 years experience as a Senior Executive with the ABS, and has held a variety of roles in that time. Prior to his current role, Lane was the acting General Manager for Statistical Business Transformation Program (SBTP). As a recent Regional Director for the ABS Victorian Office, Lane managed relationships with the Victorian State Government, supported Census field operations for Victoria, and provided leadership to the National Crime and Justice statistical program. Lane was also the Program Manager for the ABS Integrated Collection Branch where he managed ABS data collection activities, and has also held Program Manager roles within the Technology Services Division of the ABS including leading technology infrastructure delivery and setting technology strategy.

Prior to being promoted to the senior executive service, Lane held a variety of roles within the Technology Services Division, largely in the areas of information technology infrastructure and security. Before joining the ABS in 1999, Lane worked at the Australian Customs Services, initially as an APS employee and then as an employee of Electronic Data Systems (EDS) Australia.

Nick Stanton

Program Manager
(Chief Finance Officer)
Finance and Procurement Branch

Kylie Saines*

Program Manager
People Services Branch

Lisette Aarons*

Program Manager
People Strategies and Capability Branch


Enterprise Strategy and Communications Division

Gemma Van Halderen

Gemma Van Halderen, General Manager and Chief Risk Officer

Gemma Van Halderen is a member of the ABS’ Executive Team, leading the Enterprise Strategy and Communications Division. She joins the ABS after a three year placement with the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific where she led regional statistical capability programmes, was responsible for Inter-Governmental Meetings and initiated a popular Asia-Pacific Stats Cafe series in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2017, Gemma was seconded to the Commonwealth Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet to prepare the Government’s response to the Productivity Commission Inquiry into Data Availability and Use.

Gemma is a professional statistician with extensive domestic and international experience. She has represented Australia at the United Nations Statistical Commission and United Nations Committee of Experts on Global Geospatial Information Management, led Australia’s contribution to OECD Guidelines on Research Ethics and New Forms of Data for social and economic research, and was inaugural Co-Chair of a United Nations Expert Group on the Integration of Statistical and Geospatial Information. Her interests are in improving the range, accessibility and visibility of statistics and data for research, analysis and public policy.

Gemma holds a Bachelor of Science with Honours from the Australian National University. She is an Accredited Australian Statistician and an elected member of the International Statistics Institute. She is a member of the International Association of Official Statistics (IAOS) Executive Committee, the regional editor of the Statistical Journal of the IAOS and an advocate for the IAOS Young Statistician Prize. In 2013, she was a Telstra Business Women finalist in the Community and Government sector (ACT).

Michael Meagher

Program Manager
Risk, Planning and Policy Branch

Jenny Telford

Program Manager
Customer Experience and Communications Branch


Technology and Security Division

Steve Hamilton

Steve Hamilton, General Manager and Chief Information Officer

Steve Hamilton is the Chief Information Officer (CIO) and Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) for the ABS. He leads the Technology & Security Division (TSD) in providing Information and Communication Technology (ICT) leadership and services for all areas of the ABS.

Steve’s Australian Public Service career spans more than 30 years and has significant experience with IT delivery in government. For the last 8 years Steve was a Deputy Commissioner within the Enterprise Solutions and Technology Group at the Australian Taxation Office. During his 25 years at the ATO he worked on complex large scale system integration programs delivering the government's legislative reforms for Tax and Superannuation as well as Whole of Government initiatives such as Standard Business Reporting.

In his most recent role prior to joining the ABS, Steve headed up the ATO’s Digital Strategy and Digital Delivery capabilities, with primary accountability for IT Strategy, Architecture, Security and Planning as well as the ATO's eCommerce and web platforms where the ATO has leveraged both agile work practices and cloud platforms.

Steve was also the Co-Chair of the ATO's "Working with our partners in the Tax and Superannuation System Program Board".

Stephen Cross*

Program Manager
Applications and Capability Branch

Helen Robson

Program Manager
Major Projects Branch

Julian Doak

Program Manager
(Chief Information Security Officer)
Security and Infrastructure Branch

Adam Rumbold*

Program Manager
IT Strategy and Architecture Branch


*Individual is acting, temporary or contractor in this role