Membership of ASAC

Latest release
Australian Statistics Advisory Council - Annual Report
Reference period
1 July 2021 - 30 June 2022

Membership of ASAC as at 30 June 2022

MemberDate first appointed
Professor Ian Harper AO28 February 2022
 Dean and Director of the Mlebourne Business School &
Co-Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics
The University of Melbourne
Dr David Gruen11 December 2019
 Australian Statistician (ex officio)
Australian Bureau of Statistics
Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM8 April 2013
 Deputy Vice Chancellor
The University of Sydney
Mr Adam McKissack3 September 2021
 Chief Economist
Business Council Australia
Mr Luke Yeaman4 November 2020
 Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic Group
Department of the Treasury
State/Territory representativesDate first appointed
Mr Stephen Walters2 November 2015
 Chief Economist, Fiscal and Economic Group
New South Wales Treasury
Mr Chris Barrett3 May 2021
 Deputy Secretary, Economic Division
Department of Treasury and Finance, Victoria
Mr Antony Skinner8 April 2013
 Government Statistician
Queensland Treasury
Mr Alistair Jones31 October 2018
 Executive Director, Economic Business Unit
Department of Treasury, Western Australia
Ms Fiona Calvert5 August 2020
 Deputy Secretary, Economic and Financial Policy Division
Department of Treasury and Finance, Tasmania
Mr Mick Butler3 May 2021
 Deputy Under Treasurer
Department of Treasury and Finance, Northern Territory
Mr Stephen Miners19 August 2021
 Deputy Under Treasurer, Chief Minister
Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
Australian Capital Territory

Additional contributing members in 2021-22

  • Dr Luci Ellis, Assistant Governor (Economic), Reserve Bank of Australia. Dr Ellis has been a member of the Council since 2 November 2015. As at 30 June 2022, her re-appointment had not been finalised. She has since been re-appointed as a member of the Council. 

Changes in membership in 2021-22:

  • Mr Stephen Walters: NSW State Representative member since 2 November 2015, resigned from his position with the NSW Treasury on 30 June 2022. He is now the Chief Economist at the Business Council of Australia and will remain a member of the Council until his term expires on 18 August 2022.

The following members were appointed to the Council during 2021–22:

  • Mr Alistair Jones
  • Mr Stephen Miners
  • Mr Adam McKissack
  • Dr Matthew Steen
  • Prof Lisa Jackson Pulver AM*
  • Prof Abigail Payne*


The following members were farewelled in 2021–22, with thanks for their contributions to the work of the Council:

  • Prof Gary Banks AO: Chair since 28 February 2017, term concluded 27 February 2022.
  • Mr Stuart Hocking PSM: member since 19 August 2019, resigned 19 November 2021.
  • Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark: member since 2 November 2015, term concluded 3 April 2022.
Back to top of the page