8512 Specialist Medical Services

Latest release
Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC)
Reference period
2006 (Revision 2.0)

8512 Specialist Medical Services

This class consists of units mainly engaged in the independent practice of specialised medicine, other than pathology and diagnostic imaging services. These units consist of specialist medical practitioners who generally operate private or group practices in medical clinics or centres.

Primary activities

  • Allergy specialist service
  • Anaesthetist service
  • Dermatology service
  • Ear, nose and throat specialist service
  • Gynaecology service
  • Hair transplant service (by registered medical practitioner)
  • Neurology service
  • Obstetrics service
  • Ophthalmology service
  • Orthopaedic specialist service
  • Paediatric service
  • Psychiatry service
  • Rheumatology service
  • Specialist medical clinic service
  • Specialist medical practitioner service n.e.c.
  • Specialist surgical service
  • Thoracic specialist service
  • Urology service


Units mainly engaged in:

  • providing pathology or diagnostic imaging services are included in Class 8520 Pathology and Diagnostic Imaging Services;
  • operating hospitals are included in Class 8401 Hospitals (Except Psychiatric Hospitals);
  • providing services of registered general practice medical practitioners are included in Class 8511 General Practice Medical Services; and
  • providing non-medical hair restoration services are included in Class 9511 Hairdressing and Beauty Services.
Back to top of the page