8401 Hospitals (Except Psychiatric Hospitals)

Latest release
Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC)
Reference period
2006 (Revision 2.0)

8401 Hospitals (Except Psychiatric Hospitals)

This class consists of units of hospitals (except psychiatric hospitals) mainly engaged in providing facilities and services such as diagnostic, medical or surgical services as well as continuous in-patient medical care in specialised accommodation. Also included are units providing both hospital facilities and training of medical and nursing staff.

Primary activities

  • Children’s hospital
  • Day hospital
  • Ear, nose and throat hospital
  • Eye hospital
  • General hospital
  • Hospital (except psychiatric or veterinary hospitals)
  • Infectious diseases hospital (including human quarantine stations)
  • Maternity hospital
  • Obstetric hospital
  • Women’s hospital


Units mainly engaged in:

  • operating psychiatric hospitals are included in Class 8402 Psychiatric Hospitals;
  • providing aged care residential facilities are included in Class 8601 Aged Care Residential Services;
  • providing out-patient dental hospital facilities are included in Class 8531 Dental Services; and
  • operating veterinary hospitals are included in Class 6970 Veterinary Services.
Back to top of the page