1269.0 - Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC), 2016  
Latest ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 15/03/2019   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All



In 2016 the ABS conducted a minor review of the Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC). The review was conducted to ensure the classification was up-to-date, correct any errors in the classification, and to improve the index used to code responses. The conceptual model underpinning the classification was out of scope of this review.


The outcome of the 2016 review was that four substantive changes were made to SACC country titles. Consequent changes were made to ensure that revised country titles were applied in a consistent manner throughout the classification (e.g. in correspondence tables, list of differences with the equivalent New Zealand classification, short names for publications, etc.) and the coding index.

The 2016 minor review of the SACC resulted in the following substantive changes to the classification:

CodeSACC 2011, Version 2.3SACC 2016

3206Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM)North Macedonia
5101Myanmar, The Republic of the Union ofMyanmar
8202Bolivia, Plurinational State ofBolivia
8216Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic ofVenezuela

Back to top of the page