New Chair Appointed to the Australian Statistics Advisory Council

Media Release

Australian Statistician Dr David Gruen today welcomed the appointment of Professor Ian Harper AO to the position of Chairperson of the Australian Statistics Advisory Council (ASAC).

Professor Harper, the Dean and Director of the Melbourne University Business School and a member of the Reserve Bank of Australia Board, will commence his five-year term on 28 February 2022.

“Professor Harper is a highly regarded economist with tremendous experience in public policy,” Dr Gruen said.

“Professor Harper’s knowledge of business, government and academia will be a tremendous asset to ASAC as it contributes to ABS decision-making about statistical priorities.”

A professional economist with a background in public policy, Professor Harper has previously been a partner at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu and a Senior Advisor to Deloitte Access Economics.

Dr Gruen also thanked outgoing ASAC Chairperson, Professor Gary Banks AO, who has held the Chairperson role for the last five years.

“Under the leadership of Professor Banks, ASAC has provided important advice on the opportunities and challenges we face in informing Australia’s important decisions,” Dr Gruen said.

“He has played a vital role in ensuring Australia’s national statistical system continues to be among the most respected in the world.”

Further information about ASAC is available on the ABS website.

Media notes

  • When reporting ABS data you must attribute the Australian Bureau of Statistics (or the ABS) as the source.
  • For media requests and interviews, contact the ABS Media Team via (8.30am-5pm Mon-Fri).
  • Subscribe to our media release notification service to get notified of ABS media releases or publications upon their release.
Back to top of the page