2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2011  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 23/05/2011   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
2011 Census Dictionary >> Glossary >> Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC)

Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC)

The Census uses the Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC) to code Country of Birth of Person (BPLP). A minor review of the classification occurred in 2011 resulting in the Second Edition, Revision 1. This edition is used in the 2011 Census.

The SACC is based on the concept of geographic proximity. It groups neighbouring countries into progressively broader geographic areas based on similar social, cultural, economic and political characteristics.

The classification contains three levels:
  • The third level consists of the base units (countries).
  • The second level comprises minor groups, which are groups of neighbouring countries similar in terms of social, cultural, economic and political characteristics.
  • The first level comprises major groups which are formed by aggregating geographically proximate minor groups.

The following example illustrates the hierarchical structure of the classification:

Major Group:
Minor Group:
    South America
Country Unit:
    Bolivia, Plurinational State of

The term countries is used to describe the base-level units. Not all of the units classified are fully independent countries. The base-level units of the classification include:
    • fully independent countries (sovereign nation states);
    • administrative subdivisions of the United Kingdom: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland;
    • external territories and dependencies of independent countries. In general, they are physically isolated from the country to which they are dependent, for example, Falkland Islands, Martinique;
    • units which are recognised geographic areas, the ownership or control of which is in dispute, for example, Gaza Strip and West Bank; and
    • residual categories (nec) comprised of geographic areas which are not separately identified in the classification and which are not part of one of the separately identified base-level units.

For further information refer to: Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC), Second Edition, Revision 1 (cat. no. 1269.0).

See also Country of birth.

Previous PageNext Page