1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/09/2005  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Government >> Tasmanian Government >> The Legislative Council

The Legislative Council has the tradition of being a non-party House; in June 2005 the composition of the council was 10 Independents and 5 Labor Party members.

The Leader for the government in the Legislative Council therefore cannot rely upon a vote taken on party lines to ensure the passage of any government bill. Contrary to the House of Assembly, where parties usually dominate to ensure the passage of government legislation, no such certainty exists with legislation through the council.


Members of the Legislative Council are elected by single-member electorates for six-year terms by preferential voting. Periodic elections are held every year to elect either two or three members.

As for the House of Assembly, candidates’ names are rotated on the ballot papers. To be elected, a candidate must obtain 50% of the valid votes plus one, including preferences. A valid vote must show at least 3 preferences.

Legislative Council election results are available on the Tasmanian Parliamentary Library web site,


Further information about the Legislative Council, including a list of current members, is available on the Parliament of Tasmania web site, http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/lc/council.htm

Previous PageNext Page