1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/09/2005  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Government >> Tasmanian Government >> The House of Assembly

The House of Assembly, together with the Legislative Council and His Excellency the Governor, constitute the parliament, whose responsibility it is to consider legislation, to authorise the raising of revenue and the expenditure of state money.

The House of Assembly (The Tasmanian Lower House) comprises 25 members elected for a term of four years from five 5-member electorates.


Tasmania uses a system of proportional representation, known as the Hare-Clark system, in elections for the House of Assembly. The essential features of the system in Tasmania are:

    • Party groups, if officially registered, are identified on ballot papers.
    • Candidates’ positions on the ballot paper are rotated, so that favoured (top and bottom) positions are shared equally between all candidates.
    • A valid vote must show at least 5 preferences.
    • To secure election, candidates must gain a quota - the total first preference votes plus 1 divided by 6.
    • On polling day, no media advertising and no soliciting of votes near the polling booth is permitted.
    • The constituencies are the same 5 divisions used for House of Representatives elections.
    • In normal circumstances, there are no by-elections; a vacant seat is filled by a count-back of the vote at the last election.


The Tasmanian House of Assembly election was held on Saturday, 20 July 2002. The 2002 elections resulted in the Liberal Party losing three seats, while the Tasmanian Greens won an extra three seats. The ALP, under the leadership of Jim Bacon, won an outright majority for the second time in four years.

House of Assembly election results are available on the Tasmanian Parliamentary Library web site,


Further information about the House of Assembly, including a list of current members, can be found on the Parliament of Tasmania web site, http://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ha/House.htm

Previous PageNext Page