4427.0 - Young People with Disability, 2012  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 30/04/2014  First Issue
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All


In the SDAC, different types of disability have been grouped together because they share broad similarities that would require similar types of support. There are five disability groups:

    • Sensory and speech
    • Physical
    • Psychological
    • Intellectual
    • Head injury, stroke or brain damage.
There are certain well known developmental stages in the life of a very young child and it is possible that problems leading to disability are only noticed when a child’s development varies from the ‘norm’.

Some issues become more obvious in the context of being together with other children of a similar age. The emphasis in schools on cognitive tasks such as reading and writing may also make such discrepancies more evident. For example, intellectual disability was more apparent in 5-12 year olds (5.3%) and 13-17 year olds (4.6%) than it was in infants aged 0-4 years (0.9%) (Graph 3).

Primary school aged children were also more likely than infants to have psychological disability (2.0% compared with 0.4% respectively).

Graph 3: All children aged 0-17 years, Disability group by age group-2012