Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2006  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Environment >> Water >> Marine protected areas

At April 2002, there were 5 marine protected areas in Tasmania, located at:

  • Maria Island (1,500 ha)
  • Governor Island (60 ha)
  • Tinderbox (45 ha)
  • Ninepin Point (60 ha)
  • Macquarie Island (74,715 ha).

The protected areas operate largely on the 'no-take' principle, with no fishing permitted in the Governor Island, Tinderbox, Ninepin Point and Macquarie Island protected areas.

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.