Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/09/2005   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Government >> Tasmanian Government

The Tasmanian Constitution was limited by the establishment of the Commonwealth Constitution. In effect, the Parliament of Tasmania may make laws operative within the state upon all matters not within the exclusive power of the Australian Parliament but, on those matters for which the Australian Government may also legislate, the Tasmanian law may be superseded by the passing of an Act by the Commonwealth Parliament.

Tasmania’s legislature consists of the Queen, represented by the Governor, and two Houses of Parliament: the Legislative Council and the House of Assembly.

This section contains the following subsection :
        The Governor
        The Cabinet and Executive Government
        The House of Assembly
        The Legislative Council

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.