Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/09/2005   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Government >> Tasmanian Government >> The House of Assembly

The House of Assembly, together with the Legislative Council and His Excellency the Governor, constitute the parliament, whose responsibility it is to consider legislation, to authorise the raising of revenue and the expenditure of state money.

The House of Assembly (The Tasmanian Lower House) comprises 25 members elected for a term of four years from five 5-member electorates.


Tasmania uses a system of proportional representation, known as the Hare-Clark system, in elections for the House of Assembly. The essential features of the system in Tasmania are:

    • Party groups, if officially registered, are identified on ballot papers.
    • Candidates’ positions on the ballot paper are rotated, so that favoured (top and bottom) positions are shared equally between all candidates.
    • A valid vote must show at least 5 preferences.
    • To secure election, candidates must gain a quota - the total first preference votes plus 1 divided by 6.
    • On polling day, no media advertising and no soliciting of votes near the polling booth is permitted.
    • The constituencies are the same 5 divisions used for House of Representatives elections.
    • In normal circumstances, there are no by-elections; a vacant seat is filled by a count-back of the vote at the last election.


The Tasmanian House of Assembly election was held on Saturday, 20 July 2002. The 2002 elections resulted in the Liberal Party losing three seats, while the Tasmanian Greens won an extra three seats. The ALP, under the leadership of Jim Bacon, won an outright majority for the second time in four years.

House of Assembly election results are available on the Tasmanian Parliamentary Library web site,


Further information about the House of Assembly, including a list of current members, can be found on the Parliament of Tasmania web site,

Previous PageNext Page

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.