Australian Bureau of Statistics

Rate this page
ABS Home > Statistics > By Release Date
ABS @ Facebook ABS @ Twitter ABS RSS ABS Email notification service
4221.0 - Schools, Australia, 2007  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 29/02/2008   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product



1 The structure of primary and secondary schooling in Australia varies between states and territories. With Qld moving to introduce a Pre-year 1 grade in 2007 (with an initial half cohort), there are now two basic patterns evident in formal schooling in Australia, as illustrated below:

  • In NSW, Vic., Tas. and the ACT primary education comprises a Pre-Year 1 grade followed by Years 1 to 6. In NSW and the ACT, Pre-Year 1 is called Kindergarten, and in Vic. and Tas. it is called Preparatory. Secondary education comprises Years 7 to 12.
  • In Qld, SA, WA and the NT primary education comprises a Pre-Year 1 grade followed by Years 1 to 7. In Qld Pre-year 1 is called Preparatory, in SA it is called Reception, in WA it is called Pre-Primary and in the NT it is called Transition. Secondary education comprises Years 8 to 12.
Diagram: Current grade structure of primary and secondary schooling

2 Each state and territory also has a preschool sector which is separate from primary and secondary schooling. Data on preschool education within schools have been excluded from primary enrolments and staffing estimates in this publication.

3 Variations to the structure of schooling also occur over time. See Explanatory Notes, paragraphs 7 to 9, for examples of changes to schooling structures.


4 The age at which children may attend school is the subject of separate legislation within each jurisidiction. In 2007, the age at which a child's attendance at school becomes compulsory was 6 years for all states and territories except Tasmania, where it was 5 years. In practice, the majority of children start earlier, with minimum starting ages restricting enrolment to children aged between four and a half to five years at the beginning of the (Pre-year 1) school year.

5 In 2007, children were required to be at school (or undertaking the school curriculum in the case of home schooling) until:

  • reaching 15 years of age (NSW, Vic., NT and ACT) or
  • reaching 16 years of age (SA and Tas.) or
  • reaching 16 years of age or completing year 10 (Qld) or
  • the end of the year in which students turn 16 (WA).

Bookmark and Share. Opens in a new window

Commonwealth of Australia 2016

Unless otherwise noted, content on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia Licence together with any terms, conditions and exclusions as set out in the website Copyright notice. For permission to do anything beyond the scope of this licence and copyright terms contact us.