2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2006 (Reissue)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/11/2006  Reissue
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Glossary >> Census Geographic Areas

Census Geographic Areas

The Census Geographic Areas include Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) areas and the following Census-specific (non-ASGC) geographical areas:

    • Commonwealth Electoral Division (CED);
    • State Electoral Division (SED);
    • Postal Area (POA);
    • State Suburb (SSC);
    • Indigenous Region (IREG);
    • Indigenous Area (IARE);
    • Indigenous Location (ILOC); and
    • Place of Work Destination Zone.

Census statistical data and digital boundary data are available from the ABS for all of these areas except Place of Work Destination Zones. Census data for these areas are aggregated from Collection District level.

For more details refer to, Statistical Geography Volume 2: Census Geographic Areas, Australia (cat. no. 2905.0).

See also Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), Electoral division, Indigenous Area (IARE), Indigenous Location (ILOC), Indigenous Region (IREG), Place of Work (POWP), Postal Area (POA), State Suburb (SSC).

Previous PageNext Page