2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2006 (Reissue)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/11/2006  Reissue
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Glossary >> Indigenous Region (IREG)

Indigenous Region (IREG)

The Commonwealth Government uses 30 Indigenous Coordination Centres (ICC) and the Torres Strait Regional Authority (TSRA) to manage the delivery of a range of services to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people around Australia.

For Census purposes, the ABS defines Indigenous Regions (IREG) based on the ICC and TSRA areas. Some ICC Regions are split into two IREGs based on statistical differences with ICC Regions, and also to allow for the Australian Capital Territory to be a discrete IREG. IREGs are aggregations of Collection Districts which lie mostly or completely within an ICC or TSRA area.

IREGs cover in aggregate, the whole of Australia without gaps or overlaps. (Note: IREGs have replaced ATSIC Regions used to disseminate data from the 1996 and 2001 Censuses.) Census data, including a range of Indigenous statistics such as Indigenous profiles, are available by IREG.

See also Indigenous Area (IARE), Indigenous Location (ILOC).

Previous PageNext Page