2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2006 (Reissue)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/11/2006  Reissue
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Glossary >> Major Statistical Region (MSR)

Major Statistical Region (MSR)

Major Statistical Regions (MSR) divide each of the five larger states, New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia into two geographical areas: one equates with the capital city Statistical Division and the other with the balance of the state. Due to population size limitations, Tasmania, Northern Territory, the Australian Capital Territory and Other Territories each consist of only one MSR corresponding to the whole of the state/territory.

For more information refer to Statistical Geography Volume 1: Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) 2006 (cat. no. 1216.0).

Previous PageNext Page