1269.0 - Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC), 1998 (Revision 2.03)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 24/09/1998   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Chapter 1. Introduction >> Relationship of the SACC to the NZSCC

It is the policy of the ABS and Statistics New Zealand (SNZ) to harmonise, where possible, our approach to collecting statistics. Statistical harmonisation includes using joint or closely related classifications wherever possible. As a result, since 1995 SNZ have used a country classification, New Zealand Standard Classification of Countries (NZSCC), based on the ASCCSS. During the development of the SACC, the ABS and SNZ have been in close consultation. Although there are some differences in the ethnic make-up and statistical requirements in the two countries, it has been agreed that the SACC and the second edition of the NZSCC will be as close to each other as is practical.

The differences between the SACC and the NZSCC are summarised below:

      • SNZ considers the Ross Dependency to be part of New Zealand for statistical purposes. Category 1201: New Zealand therefore includes the Ross Dependency in the NZSCC but not in the SACC. The Ross Dependency is allocated the code 1607 (in Minor Group 16: Antarctica) in the SACC. This difference is considered to have little statistical significance.
      • The NZSCC has only one third-level unit in the Minor Group Antarctica, 1601: Antarctica. The SACC separately identifies the seven individual Antarctic territories including the Ross Dependency. As a result of this divergent practice, the code 1601 represents Antarctica in the NZSCC and Adélie Land (France) in the SACC. The codes 1602–1607 are not used in the NZSCC. This difference is considered to have little statistical significance.
      • The SACC splits the Major Group North-East Asia into two Minor Groups: Chinese Asia (includes Mongolia), and Japan and the Koreas. In the NZSCC the Major Group North-East Asia contains a single minor group. This difference results in a number of different country codes between the two classifications.
      • The two classifications contain the following differences in country names:


    Vatican City State
    Holy See
    Russian Federation
    Gaza Strip/Palestine/West Bank
    Gaza Strip and West Bank
    Burma (Myanmar)
    China, People's Republic of
    China (excludes SARs and Taiwan Province)
    Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region)
    Hong Kong (SAR of China)
    Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
    Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North)
    Korea, Republic of
    Korea, Republic of (South)
    Kyrgyz Republic

Previous PageNext Page