1362.7 - Regional Statistics, Northern Territory, May 2010  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 18/05/2010   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All



Regional Statistics, Northern Territory (cat. no. 1362.7) presents data using two classification structures from the Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC) (cat. no. 1216.0) – the Main Structure and the Local Government Area Structure.

ASGC Main Structure

In the NT the Main Structure comprises two Statistical Divisions (SDs), Darwin SD and Northern Territory - Bal. These in turn are made up of a number of Statistical Subdivisions (SSDs), which are further broken down into Statistical Local Areas (SLAs). The number of SSDs and SLAs depends on the particular edition being used. Maps of these areas are available from the relevant edition of the ASGC.

ASGC Local Government Area Structure

The Local Government Area (LGA) Structure covers legally designated areas over which incorporated local governing bodies have responsibility. Maps of these areas are available from the NT Government's Local Government Boundaries webpage. The SLAs which cover unincorporated areas (excluding Off-Shore Areas and Migratory) in the NT are:

  • East Arm which is on Darwin Rates Act Area land
  • Finniss-Mary
  • Alyangula and Nhulunbuy where both townships come under a Special Purpose Lease
  • Yulara which is owned by private interests.