1269.0 - Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC), 1998  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 05/04/2004   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All


The Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC) has been developed by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) for use in the collection, storage and dissemination of all Australian statistical data classified by country. It provides a single classificatory framework for both population and economic statistics.

The SACC replaces the Australian Standard Classification of Countries for Social Statistics (ASCCSS) (Cat. no. 1269.0) published in September 1990. The development of the SACC resulted from the need to update the existing classification, to incorporate various revision documents issued since 1990, to include groups and entities used in economic statistics, and to address world political changes, such as the breakup of the former USSR.

The ABS has produced this classification in line with its commitment to develop and promote the use of standard classifications, frameworks and definitions to help ensure the compatibility and comparability of data derived from different statistical systems. As it is the policy of the ABS and Statistics New Zealand (SNZ) to harmonise classifications wherever possible, SNZ was closely consulted during the development of the SACC. The assistance of the many other organisations and individuals who provided information and advice during the development of the classification is also gratefully acknowledged.

The SACC will be maintained by the ABS and updated as necessary.

REVISION 2.02 (5 April 2004)

REVISION 2.02 provides advice of revisions to the Standard Australian Classification of Countries (SACC), ABS Catalogue No. 1269.0 with regard to the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and the state of 'Serbia and Montenegro'. The date of effect of these revisions is 4 February 2003. For full details, see the separate Acrobat file of the published advice on this website.


The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia was officially dissolved on 4 February 2003 after the Federal Parliament proclaimed the establishment of the state of 'Serbia and Montenegro'. The name change has been recognised by the Australian Government and various international bodies including the United Nations and the International Organization for Standardization.

Since the publication of the original SACC, the membership of several of the entities described in the Alternative Country groupings has changed. This revision updates the alternative Country Groupings to reflect current membership.

  • Switzerland has been removed from the European Economic Area,
  • Slovakia has been added to the Organisation For Economic Co-Operation and Development,
  • Ecuador and Gabon have been removed from the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries, and
  • Fiji has been added to The Commonwealth.