1002.0 - Australian Statistics Advisory Council - Annual Report, 2019-20  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 19/10/2020   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All


MemberDate first appointed

Professor Gary Banks AO
Professorial Fellow
Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
The University of Melbourne
28 February 2017

Dr David Gruen
Australian Statistician (ex officio)
Australian Bureau of Statistics
11 December 2019

Mr David Byers
Chief Executive Officer
CO2CRC Limited
30 April 2018

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark
Professor of Economics
The University of Sydney
2 November 2015

Dr Luci Ellis
Assistant Governor (Economic)
Reserve Bank of Australia
2 November 2015

Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM
Deputy Vice Chancellor, Indigenous Strategy and Service
The University of Sydney
8 April 2013

Professor Abigail Payne
Director and Ronald Henderson Professor
Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
The University of Melbourne
30 April 2018

Ms Meghan Quinn PSM
Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic Group
The Treasury
4 April 2019

State/Territory representativesDate first appointed

Mr Stephen Walters
Chief Economist, Fiscal and Economic Group
New South Wales Treasury
2 November 2015

Mr Antony Skinner
Government Statistician
Queensland Treasury
8 April 2013

Mr Stuart Hocking PSM
Deputy Chief Executive
Department of Treasury and Finance, South Australia
19 August 2019

Mr Alistair Jones
Executive Director Economic
Department of Treasury, Western Australia
31 October 2018

Mr David Braines-Mead
Deputy Under Treasurer
Department of Treasury and Finance, Northern Territory
3 July 2018

Mr Stephen Miners
Deputy Under Treasurer, Economic, Budget and Industrial Relations
Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate, Australian Capital Territory
5 June 2018


The following members and state/territory representatives were appointed to the Council during 2019–20:
  • Dr David Gruen
  • Mr Stephen Walters*
  • Mr Antony Skinner*
  • Mr Stuart Hocking PSM

The Council farewelled four members in 2019–20:
  • Mr David W. Kalisch: ex-officio member since 15 December 2014, term completed 14 December 2019.
  • Mr Adam Boyton: member since 4 April 2019, resigned 14 January 2020.
  • Ms Amy Auster: Victorian Government representative since 23 March 2017, term completed 22 March 2020.
  • Mr Anton Voss: Tasmanian Government representative since 14 July 2014, resigned 13 September 2019.

1. As at 30 June 2020