1002.0 - Australian Statistics Advisory Council - Annual Report, 2018-19  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 15/10/2019   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

Membership of ASAC1

MemberDate first appointed

Professor Gary Banks AO
Professorial Fellow
Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
The University of Melbourne
28 February 2017

Mr David W. Kalisch
Australian Statistician (ex officio)
Australian Bureau of Statistics
15 December 2014

Mr Adam Boyton
Chief Economist
Business Council of Australia
4 April 2019

Mr David Byers
Chief Executive Officer
CO2CRC Limited
30 April 2018

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark
Professor of Economics
The University of Sydney
2 November 2015

Dr Luci Ellis
Assistant Governor (Economic)
Reserve Bank of Australia
2 November 2015

Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM
Deputy Vice Chancellor
Indigenous Strategy and Service
The University of Sydney
8 April 2013

Professor Abigail Payne
Director and Ronald Henderson Professor
Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
The University of Melbourne
30 April 2018

Ms Meghan Quinn PSM
Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic Group
The Treasury
4 April 2019

State/Territory representativesDate first appointed

Ms Amy Auster
Deputy Secretary, Economic Division
Department of Treasury and Finance, Victoria
23 March 2017

Mr Antony Skinner
Director and Queensland Government Statistician
Queensland Treasury
8 April 2013

Mr Alistair Jones
Executive Director, Economic
Department of Treasury, Western Australia
31 October 2018

Mr Anton Voss
Deputy Secretary, Economic and Financial Policy Division
Department of Treasury and Finance, Tasmania
14 July 2014

Mr David Braines-Mead
Deputy Under Treasurer
Department of Treasury and Finance, Northern Territory
3 July 2018

Mr Stephen Miners
Deputy Under Treasurer,
Economic, Budget and Industrial Relations

Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development
Directorate, Australian Capital Territory
5 June 2018

Changes in membership in 2018-19:

The following members and state/territory representatives were appointed to the Council during 2018-19:
  • Mr Adam Boyton
  • Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark2
  • Dr Luci Ellis2
  • Ms Meghan Quinn PSM
  • Mr Alistair Jones
  • Mr David Braines-Mead

The Council farewelled six members in 2018-19:
  • Ms Lisa Gropp: member since 2 November 2015, term completed 1 November 2018.
  • Mr Nigel Ray PSM: Australian Government representative since 2 November 2015, resigned on 31 October 2018.
  • Professor Judith Sloan: member since 2 November 2015, term completed 1 November 2018.
  • Dr Caralee McLeish PSM: New South Wales Government representative since 19 December 2016, resigned 28 September 2018.
  • Mr Chris McGowan: South Australian Government representative since 23 May 2011, term completed 19 October 2018.
  • Mr Kurt Sibma: Western Australian Government representative since 9 July 2015, term completed 8 July 2018.

Mr Stephen Walters was originally appointed to the Council on 2 November 2015 in his capacity as Chief Economist at JP Morgan (subsequently Chief Economist at the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD)). In mid-2018, Mr Walters resigned from his position at the AICD to take up the role of Chief Economist at the NSW Treasury. He has since been proposed for appointment by the NSW Government to replace the former NSW representative to ASAC, Dr Caralee McLeish.

1. as at 30 June 2019
2. re-appointment