1270.0.55.004 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 4 - Significant Urban Areas, Urban Centres and Localities, Section of State, July 2016  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 09/10/2017   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All


The key criteria for Urban Centre and Locality (UCL) names are that they be:

    have a maximum of 40 characters
    unique, i.e. not shared by any other UCL in Australia.

Where an UCL represents a single dominant centre then it is named for that centre:

Where an UCL represents a combination of two centres of comparable importance, it is named for both centres separated by a hyphen, the largest taking precedence:
    Shepparton - Mooroopna
    Bushfield - Woodford (L)
    Berrara - Cudmirrah (L)

Where an UCL crosses a State/Territory (S/T) border, the component parts are identified in brackets:
    Gold Coast - Tweed Heads (Gold Coast Part)
    Gold Coast - Tweed Heads (Tweed Heads Part)
    Canberra - Queanbeyan (Canberra Part)
    Canberra - Queanbeyan (Queanbeyan Part)

Where an UCL represents a region with a widely recognised name, then that name is used:
    Sunshine Coast
    Central Coast

Urban Centre names will be unique within Australia. If there are two Urban Centres with the same name, the standard State/Territory abbreviation will be added in brackets:
    Maitland (SA)
    Maitland (NSW)
    Mount Barker (SA)
    Mount Barker (WA)
    Richmond (L) (Tas.)
    Richmond (L) (Qld)

Localities have (L) appended to their names to indicate they are Localities and not Urban Centres:
    Agnes Bank (L)
    Avoca (L)
    Mount Burr (L)

In some cases Gazetted Localities and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community names have been used to obtain UCL names.