1270.0.55.003 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 3 - Non ABS Structures, July 2017  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 31/07/2017   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

The 2017 Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) edition of the Commonwealth Electoral Divisions (CED) structure includes updates to the definition of electoral divisions that have occurred prior to 1 July 2017. This updates the 2016 edition of Commonwealth Electoral Divisions released in the ASGS Volume 3 - Non ABS Structures, July 2016. It includes gazetted changes to electoral divisions in the Northern Territory.

The ASGS Commonwealth Electoral Divisions are an ABS approximation of Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) electoral division boundaries. An AEC electoral division boundary is an area legally prescribed for the purpose of returning one member to the House of Representatives, Australia's Federal Lower House of Parliament.

More information can be found on the Australian Electoral Commission website: http://www.aec.gov.au


ASGS Commonwealth Electoral Divisions developed by the ABS are an approximation of the AEC electoral divisions, using one or more Statistical Areas Level 1 (SA1). Each SA1 has been allocated once to a Commonwealth Electoral Division based on the largest population contribution. It should be noted that where a SA1 covers two or more Commonwealth Electoral Divisions, the SA1 can only be allocated to one electorate.

It should also be noted that for the initial release only a CSV allocation file, detailing the SA1s and the Commonwealth Electoral Divisions they are allocated to, will be available. Digital boundaries will be made available at a later date.

For the 2017 ASGS, 168 Commonwealth Electoral Divisions have been defined to cover the whole of geographic Australia. These do not generally cross State and Territory borders but there are three exceptions:

    • Norfolk Island is included in the Australia Capital Territory electorate of Canberra;
    • Jervis Bay Territory is included in the Australian Capital Territory electorate of Fenner; and
    • the Territories of Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands are included in the Northern Territory electorate of Lingiari.

No Usual Address and Migratory-Offshore-Shipping are represented as non-spatial objects in the Commonwealth Electoral Division digital boundaries.


Commonwealth Electoral Division names are the same as those allocated by the Australian Electoral Commission.


Commonwealth Electoral Divisions are sorted by name then allocated a two digit code starting from 01 within each State or Territory. This is prefixed by a single digit State or Territory code to enable unique identification of Commonwealth Electoral Divisions across the country.

The codes used for the 2017 ASGS Commonwealth Electoral Divisions may not match those used in 2016 as codes are assigned alphabetically within each State and Territory, and some Commonwealth Electoral Division names may have changed since 2016. Correspondences enabling the translation of data from 2016 to 2017 to quantify these changes will be available upon request.

Special purpose codes are included as balancing items. SA1s allocated to these codes are not part of a Commonwealth Electoral Division.
    • CED code 94 is reserved for those State and Territories where people are coded to the No Usual Address SA1s.
    • CED code 97 is reserved for those State and Territories that have Migratory, Off-Shore and Shipping SA1s.


State and Territory NameState and Territory CodeCommonwealth Electoral Division CodeCommonwealth Electoral Division Name

South Australia4401 Adelaide
South Australia4402 Barker
South Australia4403 Boothby
South Australia4404 Grey
South Australia4405 Hindmarsh
South Australia4406 Kingston
South Australia4494 No usual address (SA)
South Australia4497 Migratory - Offshore - Shipping (SA)