1270.0.55.003 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 3 - Non ABS Structures, July 2016  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2016   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

Natural Resource Management Regions (NRMR) are an ABS based approximation of Natural Resource Management regions (NRM). They are administrative regions primarily used by the Department of the Environment and Energy and the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources who share responsibility for delivery of the Australian Government's environment and sustainable agriculture programs, which are broadly referred to as Natural Resource Management (NRM).

Natural Resource Management regions change occasionally as States and Territories revise their boundaries.

More information can be found on the National Landcare Programme website: http://www.nrm.gov.au/national-landcare-programme

The Natural Resource Management Regions are an ABS approximation of the 2016 Natural Resource Management regions, defined through the Australian Governments National Landcare Programme, using allocations of one or more Mesh Blocks based on area of overlap (not greatest share of estimated population, as for most other Non ABS structures). The Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS) Natural Resource Management Regions have been created using Mesh Blocks to enable the release of ABS data on areas that, as closely as possible, approximate those provided. The use of Mesh Blocks is different to that used in 2011 where these were defined using whole Statistical Area Level 1 (SA1). This is a significant change and as a result of this change the overall accuracy has been greatly increased.

The 2016 ASGS Natural Resource Management Regions comprise a total of 78 regions and are defined to cover the whole of geographic Australia. Natural Resource Management Regions do not generally cross State or Territory borders, except for Jervis Bay which has been included in the New South Wales Natural Resource Management Region South East NSW. The Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory each have one Natural Resource Management Region. Norfolk Island, Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands have been included as their own Natural Resource Management Regions for the 2016 ASGS.

No Usual Address and Migratory-Offshore-Shipping are represented as non-spatial objects in the digital boundaries

National Resource Management Region names are the same as those allocated by the Australian Government Department of Environment and Energy.

National Resource Management Regions are sorted by name then allocated a two digit code starting from 01 within each State or Territory. This is prefixed by a single digit State or Territory code to enable unique identification of NRMRs across the country.

The codes used for the National Resource Management Regions are unlikely to match those used in 2011 as codes are assigned alphabetically within each State and Territory, and many Natural Resource Management Region names have changed since 2011. Correspondences enabling translation of data from 2011 to 2016 to qualify these changes are available upon request.

Special purpose codes are included as balancing items. Mesh Blocks allocated to these codes are not part of any official National Resource Management Region.

  • NRMR code 94 is reserved for those States or Territories where people are coded to the No Usual Address SA1s.
  • NRMR code 97 is reserved for those States or Territories that have Migratory, Off-Shore and Shipping SA1s.


State and Territory NameState and Territory CodeNatural Resource Management Region CodeNatural Resource Management Region Name

Queensland3301 Burnett Mary
Queensland3302 Cape York
Queensland3303 Condamine
Queensland3304 Cooperative Management Area
Queensland3305 Desert Channels
Queensland3306 Fitzroy Basin
Queensland3394 No usual address (Qld)
Queensland3397 Migratory - Offshore - Shipping (Qld)