1270.0.55.003 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 3 - Non ABS Structures, July 2016  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2016   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

Commonwealth Electoral Divisions (CED) are an ABS approximation of Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) electoral division boundaries. An Australian Electoral Commission electoral division boundary is an area legally prescribed for the purpose of returning one member to the House of Representatives, Australia's Federal Lower House of Parliament. Boundaries are based upon the Australian Electoral Commission electoral division boundaries current on Census Night 9 August 2016. Commonwealth Electoral Divisions may change as the Australian Electoral Commission revise their boundaries. Where the Australian Electoral Commission revise their boundaries, the Commonwealth Electoral Divisions will be updated on an annual basis in July in conjunction with updates of other Non ABS Structures.

More information can be found on the Australian Electoral Commission website: http://www.aec.gov.au

Commonwealth Electoral Divisions developed by the ABS are an approximation of the official Commonwealth Electoral Divisions, developed by the Australian Electoral Commission, using one or more Statistical Area Level 1 (SA1). Each SA1 has been allocated once to a Commonwealth Electoral Division based on the largest population contribution. It should be noted that where a SA1 covers two or more Commonwealth Electoral Division, the SA1 can only be allocated to one electorate.

For the 2016 ASGS, 168 Commonwealth Electoral Divisions have been defined to cover the whole of geographic Australia. These do not generally cross State and Territory borders but there are three exceptions.

  • Norfolk Island is included in the Australia Capital Territory electorate of Canberra;
  • Jervis Bay Territory is included in the Australian Capital Territory electorate of Fraser; and
  • the Territories of Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands are included in the Northern Territory electorate of Lingiari.

No Usual Address and Migratory-Offshore-Shipping are represented as non spatial objects in the digital boundaries.

Commonwealth Electoral Division names are the same as those allocated by the Australian Electoral Commission.

Commonwealth Electoral Divisions are sorted by name then allocated a two digit code starting from 01 within each State or Territory. This is prefixed by a single digit State or Territory code to enable unique identification of Commonwealth Electoral Divisions across the country.

The codes used for the 2016 Commonwealth Electoral Divisions may not match those used in 2011 as codes are assigned alphabetically within each State and Territory, and some Commonwealth Electoral Division names have changed since 2011. Correspondences enabling translation of data from 2011 to 2016 to qualify these changes will be released with this volume.

Special purpose codes are included as balancing items. SA1s allocated to these codes are not part of any official Commonwealth Electoral Division.
  • CED code 94 is reserved for those State and Territories where people are coded to the No Usual Address SA1s.
  • CED code 97 is reserved for those State and Territories that have Migratory, Off-Shore and Shipping SA1s.


State and Territory NameState and Territory CodeCommonwealth Electoral Division CodeCommonwealth Electoral Division Name

South Australia4401 Adelaide
South Australia4402 Barker
South Australia4403 Boothby
South Australia4404 Grey
South Australia4405 Hindmarsh
South Australia4406 Kingston
South Australia4494 No usual address (SA)
South Australia4497 Migratory - Offshore - Shipping (SA)