1270.0.55.001 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 1 - Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas, July 2016  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 12/07/2016   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All


The Non ABS Structures comprise eight hierarchies of regions which are not defined or maintained by the ABS, but for which the ABS is committed to providing a range of statistics. They generally represent administrative regions and are approximated by Mesh Blocks, Statistical Area Level 1 or Statistical Area Level 2. They are:

  • Local Government Areas
  • Postal Areas
  • State Suburbs
  • Commonwealth Electoral Divisions
  • State Electoral Divisions
  • Australian Drainage Divisions
  • Natural Resource Management Regions
  • Tourism Regions.

These structures will be the subject of Volume 3 of the Australian Statistical Geography Standards (ASGS) which will be released in September 2016 along with their digital boundaries, codes and labels.

Diagram 2 depicts the various ASGS Non ABS Structures, their component ABS structure regions and how they interrelate.


Graphic: Diagram depicts the various ABS Structures, their component regions and how they interrelate for the ASGS 2016.  The MB forms the base region for all individual structures aggregating up through the different hierarchies.