1270.0.55.001 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 1 - Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas, July 2016  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 12/07/2016   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All


Australia is the largest spatial unit in the Main Structure and in the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS). The ASGS uses the geographic definition of Australia described in further detail in the definition of Australia.

To align with the ISO 3166 standard the 2016 ASGS code for Geographic Australia is identified by the unique three-digit code of 036.

Australia is broken up into the States and Territories that are separately recognised in the ASGS:

    • New South Wales
    • Victoria
    • Queensland
    • South Australia
    • Western Australia
    • Tasmania
    • Northern Territory
    • Australian Capital Territory
    • Jervis Bay Territory
    • Territory of Christmas Island
    • Territory of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
    • Territory of Norfolk Island

    These spatial units are political entities with fixed boundaries. Except for the last four mentioned Territories, the total area of each State and Territory, including their offshore islands, is used for statistical purposes as a separate spatial unit in the ASGS. Jervis Bay Territory, and the Territories of Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands and Norfolk Island are included as one spatial unit at the State and Territory level under the category of Other Territories.

    Prior to 2016 Norfolk Island was not included in the ASGS. In line with Australian Government announced reforms to the governance of Norfolk Island and its inclusion into the definition of Geographic Australia, the 2016 ASGS has been updated to include the Territory of Norfolk Island.

    States and Territories consist of one or more Statistical Areas Level 4. In aggregate, they cover Australia without gaps or overlaps.

    States and Territories are identified by unique one-digit codes within Australia as follows:

    State and Territory Codes and Names

    1New South Wales
    4South Australia
    5Western Australia
    7Northern Territory
    8Australian Capital Territory
    9Other Territories