1002.0 - Australian Statistics Advisory Council - Annual Report, 2017-18  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 19/10/2018   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

Membership of ASAC as at 30 June 2018

MemberDate first appointed

Professor Gary Banks AO
Professorial Fellow
Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
28 February 2017

Mr David W. Kalisch
Australian Statistician (ex-officio)
Australian Bureau of Statistics
15 December 2014

Mr David Byers
Interim Chief Executive
Minerals Council of Australia
30 April 2018

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark
Professor of Economics
University of Sydney
2 November 2015

Dr Luci Ellis
Assistant Governor (Economic)
Reserve Bank of Australia
2 November 2015

Ms Lisa Gropp
Chief Economist
Business Council of Australia
2 November 2015

Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM
Pro Vice Chancellor
Engagement and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Leadership
Western Sydney University
8 April 2013

Professor Abigail Payne
Director and Ronald Henderson Professor
Melbourne Institute of Applied Economic and Social Research
30 April 2018

Mr Nigel Ray PSM
Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic Group
The Treasury
2 November 2015

Professor Judith Sloan
Contributing Economics Editor
The Australian
2 November 2015

Mr Stephen Walters
Chief Economist
Australian Institute of Company Directors
2 November 2015

State/Territory Member

Dr Caralee McLiesh PSM
Deputy Secretary, Fiscal and Economic Group
New South Wales Treasury
19 December 2016

Ms Amy Auster
Deputy Secretary, Economic Division
Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance
23 March 2017

Mr Antony Skinner
Queensland Government Statistician
Queensland Treasury
8 April 2013

Mr Kurt Sibma
Director, Data Analytics and Services Redesign Branch
Western Australian Department of Treasury
9 July 2015

Mr Chris McGowan
Director, Intergovernmental Relations
South Australian Department of Premier and Cabinet
23 May 2011

Mr Anton Voss
Deputy Secretary, Economic and Financial Policy Division
Tasmanian Department of Treasury and Finance
14 July 2014

Mr Stephen Miners
Deputy Under Treasurer,
Economic, Budget and Industrial Relations

Australian Capital Territory Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
8 June 2018

Changes in Membership in 2017-18

The following were appointed to the Council during 2017-18:
  • Mr David Byers
  • Professor Abigail Payne
  • Professor Lisa Jackson Pulver AM*
  • Mr Stephen Miners

* Professor Jackson Pulver was reappointed as a member of the Council.

The Council farewelled two members during the year:
  • Ms Kathy Goth from the ACT completed her term in September 2017.
  • Mr Craig Graham from the NT, who joined the Council in April 2016, resigned in May 2018.*

* Mr David Braines-Mead was appointed to the Council on 3 July 2018 to replace Mr Graham.