1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 10/02/2006  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Crime and Justice >> Courts >> Magistrates Court

The Magistrates Court (the Tasmanian lower court) consists of a Chief Magistrate, a Deputy Chief Magistrate and 10 Magistrates who are formally appointed by the Governor on the advice of the government of the day. By virtue of their office, Magistrates are also Justices of the Peace, and Coroners. In addition, Magistrates sit as chairpersons of various statutory tribunals, such as the Sex Discrimination Tribunal, the Police Disciplinary Tribunal and the Mining Division. As a result of this diversity of offices, the Magistrates Court handles a wide variety of legal actions.

The court sits on a permanent basis in 4 cities in Tasmania: Hobart, Launceston, Devonport and Burnie. Magistrates also sit in 18 country courts on a regular circuit basis.

Further information about the Magistrates Court in Tasmania can be found at the following web site, http://www.magistratescourt.tas.gov.au/home

This section contains the following subsection :
          Court of Petty Sessions
          Civil Division
          Small Claims
          Youth Justice Courts
          Coroner's Courts

Previous PageNext Page