1270.0.55.001 - Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS): Volume 1 - Main Structure and Greater Capital City Statistical Areas, July 2011  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 23/12/2010  First Issue
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Main Structure >> MAIN STRUCTURE



The Main Structure of the ASGS is used to disseminate a broad range of ABS social, demographic and economic statistics. It is broadly based on the concept of a functional area. The functional area is the area from which people come to access services from a centre. Depending on the level in the Main Structure hierarchy, this centre may be a rural town, a regional city, an urban commercial hub or a capital city CBD.


The structure has six hierarchical levels comprising in ascending order: Mesh Blocks, SA1s, SA2s, SA3s, SA4s and S/Ts. Each level directly aggregates to the level above. Therefore, SA1s are aggregates of Mesh Blocks and aggregate to SA2s. This principle continues up through the remaining levels of the hierarchy. At each hierarchical level, the component spatial units, for example SA1s, collectively cover all of Geographic Australia (as defined in Introduction) without gaps or overlaps.


Mesh Blocks

Statistical Area Level 1 (SA1)

Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2)

Statistical Area Level 3 (SA3)

Statistical Area Level 4 (SA4)

State and Territories (S/T)

Previous PageNext Page