1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2002  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 25/01/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Government >> Introduction

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions: Commonwealth, State, Territory and local government.

This chapter outlines the basic features of the Australian system of government, including:

  • the constitutional basis of government;
  • the Sovereign;
  • the Governor-General;
  • the Commonwealth Parliament;
  • the Commonwealth Government;
  • the Australian Public Service;
  • Commonwealth elections;
  • State government;
  • Territory government — self-governing;
  • Territory government — non-self-governing;
  • local government; and
  • the party system.

It also provides details of the Commonwealth Ministry, and of the State and Territory political leaders.

Previous PageNext Page