1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/09/2005  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Government >> Government - overview

Since 1 January 1901, Australia has been a federation of six states. In 1911 two territories, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory, were transferred to the Commonwealth from New South Wales and South Australia.

This federal system of government is based on British-derived parliamentary institutions (the Westminster system) and American-derived federal arrangements. Under this system, government in Tasmania is exercised at three levels:

  • Commonwealth Government, with authority based on a written constitution and centred in Canberra
  • State Government, with residual powers (powers not reserved for the Commonwealth), and centred in Hobart
  • local government, with authority derived from state Acts, and operating in 29 subdivisions of the state.


    Commonwealth Government
    12 Tas. representatives
    House of Representatives
    5 Tas. representatives
    State Government
    Mr William Cox
    Mr Paul Lennon
    Legislative Council
    15 members
    House of Assembly
    25 members
    8 members
    Local government
    Local government authorities

    Source: Department of Education; Governor General of the Commonwealth of Australia; Parliament of Australia; and Department of Premier and Cabinet.

    Previous PageNext Page