1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2008  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 26/09/2005  Ceased
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Government >> Local government

Local government in Tasmania is administered by 29 councils. These include the cities of Hobart, Launceston, Glenorchy, Devonport, Burnie and Clarence.

The functions and powers authorised under Section 20 of the Local Government Act 1993 ensure that local governments provide the following services:

  • garbage and waste disposal facilities
  • roads and footpaths
  • drainage
  • building and health inspections
  • parks, recreation facilities, gardens, cemeteries
  • community centres
  • water supply and sewerage.


Local council elections are held in October each even year. Both the mayor and deputy mayor positions are contested every two years, but the councillors have four-year terms and only half the councillors face election every two years.


Hobart's chief elected member is termed lord mayor. The principal member of each other local council is now termed the 'mayor', replacing the term 'warden'.

To access a current list of mayors for all councils in Tasmania, including contact details and web sites, see the Local Government Association of Tasmania web site at

Previous PageNext Page