1292.0 - Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), 1993  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 31/05/1993   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Chapter 1: About the classification >> Structure of the ANZSIC

17. The ANZSIC has a structure comprising categories at four levels, namely Divisions (the broadest level), Subdivisions, Groups and Classes (the finest level).

18. At the divisional level the main purpose is to provide a limited number of categories which will provide a broad overall picture of the economy and hence be suitable for publication in summary tables in official statistics. There are 17 divisions within the ANZSIC each identified by an alphabetical character.


Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing
DElectricity, Gas and Water Supply
FWholesale Trade
GRetail Trade
HAccommodation, Cafes and Restaurants
ITransport and Storage
JCommunication Services
KFinance and Insurance
LProperty and Business Services
MGovernment Administration and Defence
OHealth and Community Services
PCultural and Recreational Services
QPersonal and Other Services

19. The subdivision, group and class levels provide increasingly detailed dissections of the broad categories.

20. Each subdivision is represented by a two digit code and each group by a three digit code. If there is only one group in a subdivision the group code is the two digit subdivision code followed by 0. Otherwise the code is created using the subdivision code and appending a number starting at 1. No subdivision contains more than 9 groups.

21. Each class is represented by a four digit code. The conventions for creating class numbers within a group are the same as numbering groups within a subdivision. No group contains more than 9 classes.

22. A nine (9) appearing in the fourth digit position usually designates a miscellaneous class. These residual classes do not usually constitute homogeneous primary activities, but rather diverse activities which are not sufficiently significant to justify separate classes. For the purposes of this classification they are grouped together and treated as a separate industry to retain the homogeneity of the other industries in the group.

23. Normally an activity is designated as primary to only one class, but in a few cases of what are called overlapping classes certain individual activities are designated as primary to more than one class. For example Sheep-Beef Cattle Farming (Class 0123) is an overlapping class since farming sheep is an activity also primary to Sheep Farming (Class 0124) and farming beef cattle is an activity also primary to Beef Cattle Farming (Class 0125).

Previous PageNext Page