1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2002  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All

Feature Article - Tasmanians in other national leadership positions

Joe Lyons: ALP Premier of Tasmania,1916-19 and 1923-28, following which he switched to federal politics at the 1928 election and became Postmaster-general and then acting Treasurer. In May 1931, he switched to the newly formed United Australia Party as Leader and became Prime Minister at the December 1931 election. He died in office on 7 April 1939.

Lance Barnard was Deputy Leader of the Labor Party from 1967 until he became Deputy Prime Minister in the first ALP Government since 1949 on 5 December 1972. He held this position until 1974. He retired from parliament in 1975 and was appointed Australian Ambassador to Norway, Sweden and Finland.

Dame Enid Lyons, G. B. E. First woman member of the House of Representatives and first woman Minister of the Federal Government

Sir G. J. Bell. Speaker of the House of Representatives, 23 October 1934 to 19 November 1940

J. B. Hayes. President of the Senate, July 1938 to June 1941, and Senator for Tasmania, 1923 to 1947. Liberal Premier of Tasmania, 1922-23

J. O’Byrne. Elected Senator in 1946. Opposition Whip 1962 to 1972 and Government Whip 1972 to 1974. Elected President of the Senate 9 July 1974 to 11 November 1975.