1292.0 - Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC), 2006 (Revision 1.0)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 19/09/2008   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Chapter 8 The detailed classification >> Division A Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing


The Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing Division includes units mainly engaged in growing crops, raising animals, growing and harvesting timber, and harvesting fish and other animals from farms or their natural habitats. The division makes a distinction between two basic activities: production, and support services to production. Included as production activities are horticulture, livestock production and aquaculture, forestry and logging, and fishing, hunting and trapping.

The term 'agriculture' is used broadly to refer to both the growing and cultivation of horticultural and other crops (excluding forestry), and the controlled breeding, raising or farming of animals (excluding aquaculture).

Aquacultural activities include the controlled breeding, raising or farming of fish, molluscs and crustaceans.

Forestry and logging activities include growing, maintaining and harvesting forests, as well as gathering forest products. Fishing, hunting and trapping include gathering or catching marine life such as fish or shellfish, or other animals, from their uncontrolled natural environments in water or on land. Also included in the division are units engaged in providing support services to the units engaged in production activities.

This section contains the following subsection :
        Subdivision 01 Agriculture
        Subdivision 02 Aquaculture
        Subdivision 03 Forestry and Logging
        Subdivision 04 Fishing, Hunting and Trapping
        Subdivision 05 Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing Support Services

Previous PageNext Page