1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2004  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 27/02/2004   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Government >> Introduction

Contributed by the Department of the Parliamentary Library of the Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions: Commonwealth, state, territory and local government.

Basic features of the Australian system of government, include:
  • the constitutional basis of government
  • the Sovereign
  • the Governor-General
  • the Commonwealth Parliament
  • the Australian Government
  • the Australian Public Service
  • Commonwealth elections
  • state government
  • territory government - self-governing
  • territory government - non-self governing
  • local government
  • the party system.

It also provides details of the ministry, and of the state and territory political leaders.

Concludes with an article The 1967 Aborigines Referendum.

Previous PageNext Page