1384.6 - Statistics - Tasmania, 2005  
Previous ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 13/09/2002   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All RSS Feed RSS Bookmark and Share Search this Product  
Contents >> Environment >> Water >> Marine protected areas

At April 2002, there were 5 marine protected areas in Tasmania, located at:

  • Maria Island (1,500 ha)
  • Governor Island (60 ha)
  • Tinderbox (45 ha)
  • Ninepin Point (60 ha)
  • Macquarie Island (74,715 ha).

The protected areas operate largely on the 'no-take' principle, with no fishing permitted in the Governor Island, Tinderbox, Ninepin Point and Macquarie Island protected areas.

Previous PageNext Page