1266.0 - Australian Standard Classification of Religious Groups (ASCRG), 1996  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 06/11/1996   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Appendix 1: Supplementary codes

Nature of codes

Supplementary codes are used to process inadequately described responses in statistical collections. The supplementary codes, listed below, are of three types:

      • four-digit codes ending with one or more zeros used to code responses which cannot be coded to the detailed level of the classification but can be coded to a higher level of the classification structure (nfd codes);
      • four-digit codes commencing with zero used to code responses which cannot be allocated to a category at any level of the classification (operational codes); and
      • the four-digit code 2001 used to code the response 'Apostolic Church' which lacks sufficient information to code it to the appropriate Narrow Group of the classification.

Application of codes

Supplementary codes are not part of the classification structure. Although the list provided below contains all possible Not Further Defined codes, many of them will not be required for use in many applications. The operational codes will be needed in most coding processes. A fuller explanation of supplementary codes and their application is provided in the Code Scheme: Supplementary codes section of the Explanatory Notes.

List of supplementary codes


Not Stated
0002Religious Belief, nfd
0003Not Defined
2000Christian, nfd
2001Apostolic Church, so described
2110Churches of Christ, nfd
2150Latter Day Saints, nfd
2210Oriental Christian, nfd
2230Orthodox, nfd
2250Presbyterian and Reformed, nfd
2400Pentecostal, nfd
2800Other Protestant, nfd
2900Other Christian, nfd
6050Chinese Religions, nfd
6110Japanese Religions, nfd
6130Nature Religions, nfd
7010No Religion, nfd

Previous PageNext Page