1216.0 - Australian Standard Geographical Classification (ASGC), 2001  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 28/09/2001   
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  

Census Collection District (CD)

See Chapter 2.

Statistical Local Area (SLA)

See Chapter 2.

Statistical Subdivision (SSD)

See Chapter 2.

Statistical District (S Dist)

S Dists are predominantly urban areas, the boundaries of which are designed to contain the anticipated urban spread of the area for at least 20 years. They are generally defined as containing an urban centre population of 25,000 or more.

S Dists consist of one or more SSDs. S Dists do not aggregate to any higher level spatial units (see diagram 3, Chapter 1).

There are 35 S Dists in this edition of the ASGC. Three of these straddle two States: Albury-Wodonga (New South Wales/Victoria), Gold Coast-Tweed (Queensland/New South Wales) and Canberra-Queanbeyan (Australian Capital Territory/New South Wales).

Delimitation of S Dists

The criteria for delimiting S Dists are as follows:

  • S Dists consist of one or more urban centres (outside Capital City SDs) in close proximity with a population of 25,000 or more;
  • S Dist boundaries are defined in anticipation of urban development of at least 20 years;
  • S Dists consist of one or more SSDs;
  • S Dists may cut across LGA boundaries;
  • S Dists may cut across S/T boundaries; and
  • an S Dist may be delimited for an urban centre with less than 25,000 population, where the ABS can determine a demand for intercensal population estimates for the area and the existing LGA/SLA boundaries are inadequate for this purpose.

S Dist name

S Dist names include a suffix which identifies the State(s)/Territory in which the S Dist is located.


Newcastle (NSW)
Albury-Wodonga (NSW/VIC)

S Dist code

S Dists are identified by four-digit codes which are unique within Australia. The first two digits indicate the S/T(s) in which the S Dist is located. For the three S Dists which cover two States, the first digit is the code of the predominant State and the second digit is the code of the other State. For the other S Dists which fall entirely within one S/T, the first digit is the S/T code and the second digit is 0. The last two digits are allocated in ascending numerical order. Gaps are left between codes for future expansion.


Newcastle (New South Wales) 1003
Albury-Wodonga (New South Wales/Victoria) 1218
Gold Coast-Tweed (Queensland/New South Wales) 3139
Canberra-Queanbeyan (Australian Capital Territory/New South Wales) 8196

Previous PageNext Page