1220.0 - ANZSCO - Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations, First Edition, 2006  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 11/09/2006   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Appendix B Australian Qualifications Framework


The five skill levels in the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) are defined in terms of formal education and training, previous experience and on-the-job training.

In Australia, the formal education and training component is measured in terms of educational qualifications as set out in the Australian Qualifications Framework (the AQF). This appendix outlines the AQF in practise at the time of the development of ANZSCO.

The AQF is a single national and comprehensive system of qualifications in Australia. The AQF is endorsed by the Australian Government and therefore an AQF qualification is recognised all around Australia.

AQF qualifications link with each other, creating learning pathways between school, vocational education and training and university as education and career ambitions change or develop.


The AQF has a number of key purposes. They are:

  • provide nationally consistent recognition of outcomes achieved in post-compulsory education
  • help with developing flexible pathways which assist people to move more easily between education and training sectors and between those sectors and the labour market by providing the basis for recognition of prior learning including credit transfer and work and life experience
  • integrate and streamline the requirements of participating providers, employers and employees, individuals and interested organisations
  • offer flexibility to suit the diversity of purposes of education and training
  • encourage individuals to progress through the levels of education and training by improving access to qualifications, clearly defining avenues for achievements, and generally contributing to lifelong learning
  • encourage the provision of more and higher quality vocational education and training through qualifications that normally meet workforce requirements and vocational needs, thus contributing to national economic performance
  • promote national and international recognition of qualifications offered in Australia.


The AQF incorporates qualification titles and guidelines. The guidelines specify the characteristics of learning outcomes as well as explaining the responsibilities for assessment, issuance and certification. They are set out in a common format to enable comparisons and assist in distinguishing between qualifications. This common format covers the following areas:
  • Purpose - aim of the guideline
  • Context - why the guideline is necessary
  • Learning Outcomes:
      • Authority - the ultimate determinants of the qualification
      • Characteristics - a description of learning outcomes or competencies to be achieved for this particular qualification
      • Distinguishing Features - the features that distinguish adjacent qualifications
  • Responsibilities of Assessment - who is ultimately responsible for assessment
  • Pathways to the Qualification - how the qualification can be achieved
  • Authority to Issue the Qualification - who issues the qualification
  • Certification Issued - when the qualification is issued and what is issued.


The qualifications are:
      Senior Secondary Certificate of Education
      Certificate I
      Certificate II
      Certificate III
      Certificate IV
      Advanced Diploma, Associate Degree
      Bachelor Degree
      Vocational Graduate Certificate
      Vocational Graduate Diploma
      Graduate Certificate
      Graduate Diploma
      Masters Degree
      Doctoral Degree


Guidelines for each qualification are provided in the AQF Implementation Handbook (2002) or by visiting the AQF web site.

Previous PageNext Page