1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2006  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 20/01/2006   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Chapter 2 - Government >> Introduction


This chapter was contributed by the Politics and Public Administration Section of Library of the Commonwealth Parliament (September 2005).

Australia has a federal system of government within which there are four divisions - Commonwealth, state, territory and local.

This chapter outlines the basic features of the Australian system of government, including:

  • the constitutional basis of government
  • the Sovereign
  • the Governor-General
  • the Commonwealth Parliament
  • the Australian Government
  • the Australian Public Service
  • Commonwealth elections
  • state government
  • territory government - self-governing
  • territory government - non-self governing
  • local government
  • the party system.

It also provides details of the Commonwealth ministry, and of the state and territory government leaders.

Previous PageNext Page