2901.0 - Census Dictionary, 2006 (Reissue)  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 17/11/2006  Reissue
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Glossary >> Geographical Australia

Geographical Australia

For ASGC purposes, the ABS uses the definition of Australia as set out in section 17(a) of the Acts Interpretation Act 1901 and as amended by the Territories Law Reform Act, No. 104, 1992.

Geographical Australia, since 1993, includes:

New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, Tasmania, Northern Territory, Australian Capital Territory, Jervis Bay Territory, and the external territories of Christmas Island and Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

See also Australia.

Previous PageNext Page