4703.0 - Framework for Measuring Wellbeing: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples, 2010  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 05/03/2010  First Issue
   Page tools: Print Print Page Print all pages in this productPrint All  
Contents >> Framework Domains


To provide some structure to make understanding and utilisation of the framework easier, the various elements that might be included and/or measured in the framework have been grouped into nine domains. While these domains group similar concepts and elements into one topic area, the concepts and elements may interact with elements of other domains. The domains therefore should not be considered as mutually exclusive of each other. While derived independently, the domains are similar in scope to those in Measuring Wellbeing (cat. no. 4160.0).

Within each domain, the elements covered are often of particular importance to Indigenous wellbeing or greater in scope than in the wider Australian population. The domains of 'Culture, heritage and leisure' and 'Citizenship and governance' have been raised as being of particular importance for many discussions on Indigenous wellbeing. Together the domains attempt to provide a holistic view of Indigenous wellbeing.



The diagram recognises the subjective nature and complexity of wellbeing through the multiple domains and the levels within each domain. The domains are fluid and interact with one another, to provide a holistic approach to the wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

For each domain, there is a key statement that broadly represents the topics covered within the two levels: individual and social, cultural and economic environments. Each domain is further described in terms of elements, which are provided as broad concepts, rather than clearly defined and measurable data elements.

The nine domains of the framework for Indigenous wellbeing are:

1. Culture, heritage and leisure
2. Family, kinship and community
3. Health
4. Education, learning and skills
5. Customary, voluntary and paid work
6. Income and economic resources
7. Housing, infrastructure and services
8. Law and justice
9. Citizenship and governance

Further detail about each of the domains can be found by selecting from the list above, or by selecting the following pages.

Previous PageNext Page