1301.0 - Year Book Australia, 2009–10  
ARCHIVED ISSUE Released at 11:30 AM (CANBERRA TIME) 04/06/2010   
   Page tools: Print Print Page  
Contents >> Industry structure and performance >> The Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification 2006 (Article)


The Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC) (1292.0) provides a standard framework under which business units carrying out similar productive activities can be grouped together, with each resultant group referred to as an industry.

The ANZSIC provides a basis for the standardised collection, analysis and dissemination of economic data on an industry basis for Australia and New Zealand. As well as being the standard industrial classification that underpins ABS and Statistics New Zealand industry statistics, the ANZSIC is widely used by government agencies, industry organisations and researchers for various administrative, regulatory, taxation and research purposes throughout Australia and New Zealand.

ANZSIC 2006 has been developed to provide a more contemporary industrial classification system. Changes in the structure and composition of the economy, changing user requirements and comparability with international standards have been taken into account. The 2006 edition of the ANZSIC replaces the 1993 edition.

Changes from ANZSIC 1993

ANZSIC 2006 separately identifies 19 divisions, compared with 17 in ANZSIC 1993.

A new Information Media and Telecommunications Division has been introduced. It groups units mainly engaged in the creation and storing of information products for dissemination purposes; transmitting information products using analogue and digital signals; and providing transmission and storage services for information products. This has been identified as a rapidly growing sector in the Australian and New Zealand economies since the last review. The proposed International Standard Industry Classification of All Economic Activites, Rev.4 and North American Industry Classification System 2002 also recognise this as a separate Division.

The very large and diverse Property and Business Services Division in ANZSIC 1993, together with some other services, has been rearranged into three new divisions in ANZSIC 2006: Rental, Hiring and Real Estate Services; Professional, Scientific and Technical Services; and Administrative and Support Services. The three separate divisions again align with the proposed ISIC, Rev.4 and NAICS 2002.

ANZSIC 2006 identifies 86 subdivisions, compared with 53 in ANZSIC 1993. The substantial increase in the number of subdivisions was driven by improvements made to the international comparability of the classification at this level and the identification of groups of economic activities with significant differences in their production functions at higher levels of the classification. Considerable change has also occurred at the lower levels of the classification.


The new divisional structure for ANZSIC 2006 is as follows:

  • A Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing
  • B Mining
  • C Manufacturing
  • D Electricity, Gas, Water and Waste Services
  • E Construction
  • F Wholesale Trade
  • G Retail Trade
  • H Accommodation and Food Services
  • I Transport, Postal and Warehousing
  • J Information Media and Telecommunications
  • K Financial and Insurance Services
  • L Rental, Hiring and Real Estate Services
  • M Professional, Scientific and Technical Services
  • N Administrative and Support Services
  • O Public Administration and Safety
  • P Education and Training
  • Q Health Care and Social Assistance
  • R Arts and Recreation Services
  • S Other Services

Previous PageNext Page